Supporting Handmade.

Hello

Hope your week is treating you well. I thought I’d dedicate today’s blog post all about some of my favourite handmade pieces that I have and talk a little about the maker behind them. As a maker myself not only do I want to talk about my own work and the work that is put behind it, but feel I should shout about others too who work so hard to produce some amazing work striving each day to do what they love! Each title has a link to their page, so go check them out.

 
Hope the Black Dog

I came across Hope the Black dog fairly recently, it is all about promoting positive mental health and wellbeing. Every item contributes £1 to the mental health charity mind, as well as serving to visually remind ourselves and others that even though it is not easy – we are fighting. I myself suffer from anxiety attacks, so when I came across Amy’s work I was instantly in love. Not only is she super talented but her work promotes such a worthy cause that needs to be spoken more about. So as I was browsing through her shop I came across this really sweet necklace, if I am honest there was so many to choose from I really could have bought them all! However, I refrained and was drawn the most to this sweet flower one, as the colours and print are very me. The reason why I bought from her store, was not only because I liked the item, but because it is something I can wear to remind me to keep calm – may sound silly but it’s working so far 😉


Ip Dip design

“Quirky designs to make people happy”

I found Ip Dip Design when I was starting out at the beginning of this year, her bright bold prints are enough to catch anyone’s eye and so it did mine. Her shop is full of fun prints and quotes that are inspiring. When browsing her shop I decided to go for the sticker pack and quote postcard set. I have used the stickers to decorate my new planner and stook some on my pin board of inspiration. The postcards I am yet to decide what to do with, but for now they are currently being shown off in my sewing room keeping me motivated.

Emily Coxhead

Emily Coxheads work is what everyone needs in their life. Not only is her work fun and bright, she is all about bringing out the happy in everyone! Also I love her work for having a funny sense of humour too such as this tea card I was lucky enough to win in her Instagram giveaway. Her work is positive and fun and I encourage everyone to take a look and get happy.

JillyJilly mug

I love Jilly’s work, the colours she uses are not only dreamy but super pretty. I purchased one of her mugs from The Treasured website, a website that is an online store full of loveliness from British designers and makers. I know I am a sucker for mugs but this is one I have needed in my life for a while – Good Things Come To those Who Make. I love it, fun and just what I need to keep me calm for when I am having a fight with the sewing machine!img_4658

Jenny Dunlop

Jenny Dunlop is a local artist from West Kirby, Wirral – my home town! She creates the most beautiful artwork and has them printed on to cards and prints. I was very lucky to be given one of Jenny Dunlops prints as a present recently, I have had my eye on this print of the Liberty shop for a while now but someone beat me to it, but what a lovely present to receive. Her work is so bright and colourful and her animal prints she creates are so fun and have so much character to them.

x

2 thoughts on “Supporting Handmade.

Leave a Reply

